Wieters, 2 Others Accept QO’s

Historic day in MLB free agency 

Since Major League Baseball began free agency in 1975, no pending-free-agency-player had accepted a qualifying offer from his team, agreeing to stay for another year and do it all over again at the end of the next season.

2015 is a different story.

Not only did one player accept his team’s qualifying offer, but three players did. Outfielder Colby Rasmus agreed to stay with the Houston Astros, catcher Matt Wieters will return to Baltimore for another year, and pitcher Brett Anderson has decided to stay in LA to play with the Dodgers in 2016.

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 6.34.39 PM

Players had to accept or, as expected, deny their qualifying offers by 5 p.m. ET Friday.

17 players, including position players Alex Gordon, Jason Heyward, Justin Upton, Daniel Murphy, and pitchers Jeff Samardzija, John Lackey and Ian Kennedy, all rejected their QO’s, which are a one-year, $15.8 M contract.

Those players that did reject the QO are free to sign with any of the 30 MLB teams once the free agency period begins.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s